2022 Excellence in Diversity Awards

Established in 2014, Rowan’s Excellence in Diversity Awards celebrate outstanding contributions by students, faculty, and professional staff who address issues of diversity, equity, and inclusion in creative ways.

This year, Diversity Awards recognized the following students: 

  • Excellence in Diversity Award for Scholarship 

    • Revati Gummaluri 

  • Excellence in Diversity for Social Activism 

    • Women of Westby: Jennifer Araya, Jonathan Colon, Victoria Esquilin, Summayah Hayes, Kaylee Pachana, Charlotte Steinman, and Candice Wright 

  • Excellence in Diversity for Performance 

    • Cast and Crew of Making Good Trouble (Rowan Theatre and Dance)

Diversity Award Committee also recognized members of the faculty and staff: 

  • Excellence in Diversity for Scholarship - Assessing Racial Disparities in Assessment Scores and Graded in the First-Year Writing Program: 

    • Leslie Allison, Nicole Cesare, Celeste Del Russo, Tiffany DeRewal, Kristine Lafferty, Jude Miller, Jaclyn Partyka, Catherine Romano, Juliana Rausch, and Amy Woodworth

  • Excellence in Diversity for Social Activism

    • Dr. Dawn Marie Bazemore, Assistant Professor Theatre and Dance 

  • Excellence in the Study or Practice of Medicine

    • Project Salvando Vidas Latinas (Saving Latin Lives): S. Raza Husain, Natalie Calderon, Jhon Orozco Arismendy, Jessica Robertson, and Tessy La Torre Torres - 

The Divison of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion would like to extend a big congratulations and thank you to those who contributed to the development of the Inclusive Pedagogy and Practices Certificate Program (IPP) and were awarded the Excellence in Diversity for a Group Project! Contributing group members of the IPP program include: 

  • Dr. Amy Accardo, Faculty Director, Center for Neurodiversity

  • Hind Alharbi, Ph.D. Candidate in the Rowan College of Education 

  • Dr. Alicia Drelick, Lecturer for the Department of Interdisciplinary and Inclusive Education (IIE) and Coordinator of the B.A. in Inclusive Education

  • Dr. Brent Elder, Assistant Professor in the Department of Interdisciplinary and Inclusive Education (IIE)

  • Dr. Stephanie Farrell, Experiential Engineering Education Department (EXEED) Professor and Founding Department Head 

  • Dr. Justin Freedman, Assistant Professor in the Department of Interdisciplinary and Inclusive Education (IIE)

  • Marie Flocco, Professor in the Ric Edelman College of Communication and Creative Arts

  • Erica King, Technical Trainer & Instructional Designer at Rowan University

  • Chiara Latimer, Autism PATH Coordinator in the Office of Career Advancement 

  • Dr. McPherson - Myers, Vice President for the Division of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion 

  • Michele Pich, Assistant Director of the Shreiber Family Pet Therapy Program at Rowan University

  • Lara Roberts LeBeau, Assistant Director of Testing Services at Rowan University

  • Dr. Casey Woodfield, Assistant Professor in the Department of Interdisciplinary and Inclusive Education (IIE)

  • John Woodruff, Director of Accessibility Services at Rowan University