<u>UNIVERSI</u>	TY SENATE ANNUAL COMMIT	ITEE REPORT
Committee Name:Diversity	/ Committee	2017-2018
Number of Meetings Held this Y	′ear: 7	
Committee Chair:Jeanne	Lewis	
Committee Members: (list here)		
Janelle Alexander	Karen Stesis	
Christine Davidian	Daniel Strasser	
Ai Go Han	MaryBeth Walpole	
John T, Mills	Alison Wedell	
Charalampos Papachristou	Denise Williams	
Seran Schug		
Rachael Shapiro		
Katharine Slater		
University community, with recommends practices and	nittee: out all areas, and for all membe special attention to issues of s policies that will enhance dive and establishment of such pra	social justice; ersity at Rowan, and

Summary of Activities this Year:

- 1. Held 'Voices of International Students' Panel, which addressed the experiences, observations and concerns of international students on campus. Committee activity leader Allison Wedell
- 2. Reviewed and brought forward a proposed campus transgender bathroom policy for Senate consideration/approval, and future institutional approval. Developed by committee member Dr. Rachael Shapiro
- 3. Held the 1st Annual 'Minding the Gap' Mini-Conference on April 3rd, in the Chamberlain Student Center Ballroom. Sessions explored and addressed issues

related to the 2010 Gap Report of the Educational Trust Fund, and the divide that exist at Rowan related to student retention and graduations rates between African American and White students. Participants expressed strong desire to have more opportunities like this. Sessions included:

- Gap Overview Presented by Dr. MaryBeth Walpole and Dr. John T. Mills
- Student Video Documentary- 'Exploring Rowan's Achievement Gap', provided by students from the Writing Arts Department. Workshop Leader Dr. Rachael Shapiro.
- Student workshop, Emotional Agility and Creating Community: Understanding, and Dealing with Stress at the University. Workshop Leader, Dr. Seran Schug.
- 4. Sponsored the 5th Annual Excellence in Diversity Awards Ceremony/Dinner, for Faculty, Professional Staff and Students. Keynote Speaker, Dr. Beena Sukumaran. Award recipients:
- Nicole Milan Tyner Excellence in Diversity for Scholarship
- Dr. Tabbetha Dobbins Excellence in Diversity for Social Activism
- Dr. Alicia Monroe Excellence in Diversity for Social Activism
- Oluseun Dairo Excellence in Diversity for Scholarship
- Daquan Washington Excellence in Diversity for Social Activism
- Dr. Maria Rosado Excellence in Diversity for scholarship

SUGGESTIONS & RECOMMENDATIONS

2017-2018 **SUGGESTIONS**:

- 1. Diversity Committee should continue review and research regarding faculty/staff <u>hiring practices</u>. We are concerned that diversity in faculty/professional staff is not representative of student population.
- 2. The Diversity Committee should follow-up with the status of the proposed official institutional transgender bathroom policy, submitted to the Senate spring semester 2018. Also, the Diversity Committee should develop 'open voice' opportunities for LGBTQ faculty/staff to discuss concerns and issues.

- 3. The Diversity Committee should explore the establishment of the Green Dot program for students experiencing persecution, and discrimination. To provide education on the ways that <u>bystanders</u> and <u>witnesses</u> can act to support faculty, staff, and students who are being hurt or abused.
- 4. The Diversity Committee should engage in research on developing ways to promote listening, acknowledgement, and understanding by administration, faculty, staff and students, regarding issues related to discrimination, marginalization and safety.
- 5. The Diversity Committee should explore the idea of building mentorship and support systems for underrepresented groups.
- 6. The Diversity should explore the use of Rowan's Art Gallery, as a space for multimedia installation of various expressive arts and narrative projects about diversity on Rowan's campuses.
- 7. The Diversity Committee should maintain the diversity calendar of campus events and activities, with committee members rotating coverage/support.
- 8. The Diversity Committee should revisit the 2010 and 2016 GAP Report of the Educational Trust Fund with Dr. MaryBeth Walpole and Dr. Rory McElwee; with special attention given to Rowan's GAP status, and anticipated improvement initiatives.
- 9. The Diversity Committee should invite Dr. Newell to discuss/address the university's commitment to diversity, and the development of a collaborative relationship for future diversity initiatives.
- 10. The Diversity Committee, because of the lack of student award opportunities, should continue to be the sponsor of the Excellence in Diversity Award Celebration. Further: The committee should organize a sub-committee to address the need for a 'Diversity Budget' to include, but not be limited to the Excellence in Diversity Awards Ceremony, but also various other functions or activities, i.e. guest lecturers/speakers, etc.

11. The Diversity Committee should seek/obtain funding for technical support- a <u>laptop</u> for committee use, for WebEx meeting access activity, Webinars, minutes, etc. (Maintained by committee Chair)

RECOMMENDATIONS:

The Diversity Committee should be <u>more aggressive</u> in their efforts to address/support diversity, inclusion, equity, and social justice practices on all of Rowan's campuses!